Tuesday 4 June 2013

Under 20's: Ireland vs Australia

Australian Team to play Ireland at 5.45 Irish Time on Wednesday 5th June.

1 Silatolu Latu
2 Maile Ngauamo
3 Oliver Hoskins
4 Senio Toleafoa
5 Tom Staniforth
6 Michael Wells
7 Jack Dempsey
8 Curtis Browning (c)
9 Ben Meehan
10 Jake McIntyre
11 Alex Northam
12 Ulupano Seuteni
13 Lalakai Foketi
14 Harry Parker
15 Jonah Placid

16 Andrew Ready
17 Pettowa Paraka
18 Allan Alaalatoa
19 Ofiu Manukeu-Archibald
20 Patrick Sio
21 Waldo Wessels
22 Luke Burton
23 Henry Taefu

This Australia side is packed with talent and Under 20 experience. 9 players in the squad have previous JWC experience, with 7 of them starting.

The entire front row of Silatolu Latu, Maile Ngauamo and Oliver Hoskins played in last year's Junior World Cup campaign, while in the second row Senio Toleafoa also played in last year's JWC, but for Samoa.

Captain Curtis Browning is their key player in the backrow. He is the only member of the squad with Super Rugby experience now that Chris Feauai Sautia has been withdrawn. Browning is a big guy, strong carrier, and heavy tackler. He is the second youngest player to ever play for Australian schoolboys at the age of 15. He won the Australian Under 20 player of the year last year. Can comfortably fit in at blindside and in the second row. 

He recently signed a contract extension with the Queensland Reds, and his future is secure in the game. No matter how Australia do in this competition, Browning will be one to watch in the future, and will be their driving force in this competition.

UJ Seuteni is their key backline player. Nominally an outhalf, he's also comfortable at inside centre, fullback and wing. Also has experience from last year, Seuteni is one of two players who feature in extended Super Rugby squads, with both himself and Browning in the Reds squad.

On the wing, Harry Parker who has sevens experience, is a potential dangerman, and the youngest in the squad is fullback Jonah Placid, who has another TWO years at this level.

As a rule, Queensland are significantly better at producing youngsters than the other Australian provinces, and with 9 players in the 23, this will be a side that will have a number of graduates ending up with full Wallaby caps.

Ireland's team to play Australia:

15 - Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
14 - Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
13 - Thomas Farrell (Lansdowne/Leinster)
12 - Thomas Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11 - Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10 - Steve Crosbie (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9 - Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
1 - Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
2 - George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons/Exile)
3 - Adam Boland (Lansdowne/Connacht)
4 - Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
5 - John Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
6 - Conor Joyce (Malone/Ulster)
7 - Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
8 - Ryan Murphy (Dolphin/Munster)


16 - Bryan Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
17 - Edward Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
18 - Ryan Furniss (Worcester Warriors/Exile)
19 - Sean McCarthy (Shannon/Munster)
20 - Daniel Leavy (UCD/Leinster)
21 - David Shanahan (Clontarf/Leinster)
22 - Mark Roche (Lansdowne/Connacht)
23 - Darragh Leader (Galwegians/Connacht)

No comments:

Post a Comment